Trijicon ACOG TA-33-8 for an AR?

PDA

MMcfpd
June 15, 2007, 10:54 PM
A brief bit of background first - I just started shooting 13 months ago, and got my first rifle (SKS) 7 months ago. I have taken to the sport, and I'm ready to swim into the world of sighting systems a bit further.

And swimming is the way my head feels after poking around some. So far I've only had a $29 NCStar 4 x 30, and it's been a huge leap, but it is a cheap scope.

Now I think I'm zeroing in on the Trijicon TA-33-8. It will be used primarily on a Colt 6920, shooting mostly 100, 200 and 300 yard ranges. It is expensive, but I'm prepared for that, I think.

So, first, is that a good choice for that rifle and application? Any thoughts on the amber versus the red reticle? What are the pros and cons of the TA-60 mount versus the LaRue LT105 mount?

Finally, cost notwithstanding, is there some other combo I ought to look at? I've read enough here and elsewhere that I'm saturated to the point of needing some input from y'all.

Thanks.

If you enjoyed reading about "Trijicon ACOG TA-33-8 for an AR?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Don't Tread On Me
June 16, 2007, 02:14 AM
I have that exact mini-ACOG. I LOVE IT. And so do my buddies. At the range, I can barely get time on it myself! In my opinion, the best optic you can ever put on an AR-15 (other than another type of ACOG).

It is expensive. Yes. All ACOG's are - but this is the cheapest one they make, but is still the same quality. You pay a lot, but it is the most shock resistant, does not require batteries, has no electronics and just plain old works! It is light and small. Total package. Peace of mind. Bright in the day, works in total darkness.