What is the difference between A2, A3 and AR?

PDA

.cheese.
June 20, 2007, 07:02 PM
They look the same to me.

I'm still learning about military style rifles. Thanks.

If you enjoyed reading about "What is the difference between A2, A3 and AR?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
50 Shooter
June 20, 2007, 07:07 PM
You got different stuff like better sights, different hand guards, a shell deflector, improved flash hider, different barrel profile...

Outlaws
June 20, 2007, 07:16 PM
Well if I recall, for M16's A1 and A3 are select fire with automatic, fixed carry handle. A2 and A4 are select fire with burst, flattop uppers. AR is the civilian version of the M16. The different types of A1, A2, A3, and A4 are less of a actual model for the AR world and more just whatever the company wants to call it, but generally the A3 and A4 would be flattop uppers and the A1 and A2 are fixed carry handle. Someone will correct me if I got any of that wrong, plus I think there are a couple other differences.

A stands for Alteration.

.cheese.
June 20, 2007, 07:26 PM
ahh... so they are the same, just with different modes of fire and slightly different default accessories?

Langenator
June 20, 2007, 07:27 PM
M16A1-1/12" twist barrel, full auto, 5 clicks per rotation front sight post, slightly shorter buttstock, triangular handguards, fixed carryhandle/rear sights without BDC

M16A2-1/7" barrel, 3 round burst, 4 clicks per rotation front sight post, longer buttstock, round handguards, fixed carryhandle/rear sight with 300-800m BDC

M16A4-same as A2, but with rail system handguards and flattop upper with either removable carryhandle/rear sight or folding BUIS.

I think the M16A3 is the same as the A4, except full auto instead of burst.

As used in reference to civilian (semi auto only) ARs, the terms A1/A2/A4 refer to the other characteristics.

funfaler
June 20, 2007, 08:32 PM