My First 1911a1, Springfield Armory GI, opinions? (pics inside)

PDA

nate392
June 26, 2007, 01:21 PM
Hey everyone, im fairly new to getting interested in the 1911 so for my first purchase in these I went for the springfield armory 1911a1 GI. I paid 465.00, and the only thing I have for complaints is the factory grips, which I later changed to late war Remington Rand ones. I'm a big war buff, so I wanted to try and resemble WW2 issue. In my opinion they really are nice guns that keep with a design that represented a great era that you don't see anymore in firearms.

If you enjoyed reading about "My First 1911a1, Springfield Armory GI, opinions? (pics inside)" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
CountGlockula
June 26, 2007, 01:41 PM
That's a great choice. I was thinking of picking it up too, because of the retro/classic look also. How does it shoot? Have you had any issues with it, besides the grip?

flashman70
June 26, 2007, 02:21 PM
Good 1911 to start with. If you want you can get custom work done and get lots of extras for it.

trickyasafox
June 26, 2007, 02:35 PM
I went with the milspec. Mine has a pretty tight chamber, and i gotta run all my rounds through a FCD for it, but other than that its a great shooting gun that doesn't give me any trouble with most feed profiles. I'm still working on a SWC load for it though.

johndoe1027
June 26, 2007, 03:30 PM
I'm a big stainless fan but they are nice guns for a great price. A VERY good bargain.

Congrats, now go shoot it (a lot) and post the results. :)

nate392
June 26, 2007, 03:35 PM
countglockula, i have not yet broke her in yet, so no issues yet lol but i have been told it eats anything you feed it

jad0110
June 26, 2007, 04:52 PM
Nice gun! I have a Mil-Spec on order, and I'm thinking of adding vintage grips like yours.

Where did they come from / $$$ ???

RancidSumo
June 26, 2007, 06:24 PM