Wet feet and big deer

PDA

spot&stalk
June 29, 2007, 11:34 PM
Started preseason whitetail scouting for the year, this evening. Afterward I got to thinking, I live on a 100 acre farm, and have hunted here all my life. I've shot alot of nice deer, in open fields, and in hardwoods. In 1994 my grandfather had the land logged. Now I have alot of thick underbrush lining my creek banks. Well since the logging, I have had to change my hunting strategies a bit. Well there is one huge buck I have been tracking for about 4 years now, and he likes the thick stuff. I have tried drawing him out of it, tried running him out and still nothing. I notice this one path he uses by the large amount of sign, along the way. He crosses the creek in this area alot. Way too thick to set up in. So here is my question. Is it possible to set up in the creek and ambush him when he crosses, or could he be using the creek in a means to travel undetected, the water washing his tracks away? Is this at all posibile? Have any of you ever done this before or am I just crazy?

If you enjoyed reading about "Wet feet and big deer" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
trueblue1776
June 29, 2007, 11:36 PM
If the brush is real thick and the creek is shallow, then I'd take the easier route if I was him. Wouldn't you?

My dad is a tracking hunter, he will sit on trails with the wind on his face.

redneck2
June 30, 2007, 07:34 AM
One of my friends spooked a BIG deer that was laying along a flooded creek bank. Tried to watch it as it took off. Finally saw the antlers just sticking out of the water as it swam down stream.

I live on a lake in Indiana. A few years ago I'm looking across the lake and see some funny looking ducks swim from the far shore of the bay towards us, maybe 600 yards. I look thru my binoculars and it's two deer swimming. I still have the pictures of them in the water.