High End AR Advise Needed, Please.

PDA

DogBonz
July 17, 2007, 04:56 PM
After taking a carbine class, it has become apparent that my DPMS carbine, while great for punching paper and plinking, is not up to the task of course work. So, if you had $1500-$2000 to spend on a high-end AR, what would you get? I am not interested in heavy barreled target type guns. I want the best quality, most reliable, dependable AR made. I would like a 16 to 18 inch barrel, and while rails would be nice, I don’t need to be tacticool. I am looking at Sabre Defense, LMT, LaRue, Wilson, etc.

PS. Please no “you could buy an AK and a tank for 2K…”

Please stick to ARs

If you enjoyed reading about "High End AR Advise Needed, Please." here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
taliv
July 17, 2007, 05:33 PM
noveske comes to mind and they seem to have a decent reputation for that sort of thing, although i have no personal experience with them. personally, i selected all the parts individually and built mine myself.

edit:

read these threads for reference:
http://thehighroad.org/showthread.php?t=284477
http://thehighroad.org/showthread.php?t=261320
http://thehighroad.org/showthread.php?t=233214

kingpin008
July 17, 2007, 05:41 PM
Just curious, why does it have to be high-end, if it's going to be more of a "rough & ready" rifle for you? There are plenty of great AR options (especially kits) that'll get the job done in fine style and still come in under a grand.

Seeing as you already have a paper-puncher, why spend the cash if you don't need to? Pick up something from any one of the multitude of AR manufacturers and have a bunch left over for ammo, ya know?

Prince Yamato
July 17, 2007, 05:42 PM
Les Baer? Armalite? Colt? H&K?

Outlaws
July 17, 2007, 06:01 PM