22lr enough to go through human bone/skull?

PDA

bdjansen
July 24, 2007, 05:10 AM
The reason I am asking such a morbid question is I seem to find people who think that it will and many that think it wont. Frankly, I think it would yet have no desire to test that theory myself. :) But there are enough people who say things like I knew a guy who was shot in the face with x number of 22s and the doctor pulled them out of his sinuses. And those people have made me have doubts.

So what is the scientific way to look at this? Does anybody know the density/strength of human bone vs. the amount of force/velocity of a 22lr? Something like that? Im no scientist but Im sure that some of you guys are a lot closer to one then me.

Please no stories of who your mailman knew and what he survived from. Without pictures it didn't happen right? :) Just science please.

No, this is not an is a 22 good for self defense? thread. Im just curious.

If you enjoyed reading about "22lr enough to go through human bone/skull?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
CNate
July 24, 2007, 05:18 AM
Think about it this way..even if it doesn't inflict a fatal wound, if you shoot someone in the face with a 22, it's not going to feel good.

yongxingfreesty
July 24, 2007, 05:31 AM
^^ exactly what he said. wouldn't want to get shot with a .177 pellet.

shot in the forehead, i dont think it would penetrate all the way coming from a pistol. if shot at an angle, it might even bounce off. HAHAH

crazed_ss
July 24, 2007, 06:19 AM
Probably depends on the distance and the angle that the round strikes at.. Saw this on the news the other day.
http://www.10news.com/news/13732215/detail.html

At 11:33 p.m. Saturday, a Hispanic male fired a .22-caliber rifle at a group of people partying at a house at 2761 Treat St., hitting one person in the back of the head.

The 18-year-old victim was taken to a local hospital and is expected to survive