223 brass


PDA






Wing Nut
July 29, 2007, 09:59 PM
I bought some new winchester 223 brass when I usually use remington brass and was wondering if I should expect a different pressure and load accuracy from the winchester brass. I use 24.5gn of 2230 powder and 55gn vmax bullets . my worst group with that load is 9/16 of an inch with 5 shots at 100 yards. I wanted to know if any one had some opinions on what to expect.

If you enjoyed reading about "223 brass" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
esheato
July 29, 2007, 10:16 PM
Different components, different results. No matter how small the change (bullet, brass, primer, propellant) start at the minimum and go up from there.

Expectations? I have no idea. You didn't mention what gun you were shooting. Also, I can see that you're using good components and that's a big step in the right direction.

Accurate guns are typically accurate with lots of different loads. Sounds silly, but it's not.

Ed

Wing Nut
July 30, 2007, 12:16 AM
I am shooting a tika T3. I know the winchester brass is thicker and lasts longer thats why I wanted to switch. some I have talked to have said it will not matter but I wanted a second opinion and I will start with min load.

Dave R
July 30, 2007, 05:50 PM
In general, if the brass is thicker, then the case has less volume, and that will raise pressures.

So, as you said, start with the minimums and work up. If you have a chronograph, you might find higher velocities with less powder because of the lower case volume.

That's the theory, anyway.

RustyFN
July 30, 2007, 06:01 PM
What Dave said. Any time you change a component you should reduce the load and work back up. That's the fun part of reloading isn't it?:D
Rusty

Wing Nut
July 30, 2007, 07:50 PM
thanks, U are right.

If you enjoyed reading about "223 brass" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!