What reloading setup for .38 spl, .357 mag, .30-30 & .45-70?

PDA

Nematocyst
August 1, 2007, 05:35 AM
In terms of reloading, I'm not a newbie yet, just thinking about it.

Over the last few months, I've pared and streamlined my toolkit.

Currently, it is composed of five guns devoted to
SD (city & outback), hunting, and walk-about in outback:

* Marlin 39A: .22LR (yes, I understand: no reloading)
* SW 642: .38 spl
* SW 65: .357 mag/.38 spl
* Marlin 1894C: .357 mag/.38 spl (now in shipment)
* Marlin 336: .30-30

I will likely add a Marlin 1895 in .45-70 within in a year or two.

I'm semi-nomadic, so my goal - even a necessity - is
a light, fast, efficient, self-reliant, minimalist SD and hunting kit.

Thinking down the road a few months,
I'm starting to research a complete reloading kit
with which I can break away from factory loads.

I'm looking to acquire all the tools that
I need to reload for those calibers on the above list.

I'm not interested in casting my own bullets,
at least initially. I will buy them.

Due to space constraints (which are stringent),
I'm looking for a single reloading rig that can reload
all those calibers (except .22) flexibly,
with options for other calibers.

Given those criteria, if I handed you $300 (plus commission)
and said, "Set me up to reload those calibers",
what would be on your "must get" list?

I could go higher than $300 if a good reason is present,
but less is always welcome as long as quality isn't sacrificed.
I tend to buy quality rather than economy,
even if not always the top of the list.

I'm looking for a good quality "starter kit"
that is suitable (perhaps with additions or upgrades)
for someone with intermediate to advanced skills as well.
I'm not interested in the latest fancy dancy technology,
just good quality basic tools. Basic simplicity is fine with me.

I spent a couple of hours earlier reading the archives
about various presses and powders for these calibers.
I have an initial opinion about