Mail Order Ammo Questions

PDA

kingpin008
August 1, 2007, 06:40 PM
Hey ya'll. I'm getting ready to make my first online ammo purchases, and I'm wondering if anyone can answer some questions for me.

First - This might sound dumb, but is the "free shipping" from AmmoMan really free? Like, no hidden last-minute charges? I have no experience whatsoever with him, except I've heard some stories that Eric (I think that's his name) can be a jerk when dealing with customers. Even if that's true, it doesn't bother me unless part of that is him messing around with what he charges for his ammo. If it is indeed free shipping, no strings attached, that's good to hear.

Second - is there a way I can estimate shipping costs, for other sites? I've been checking out Georgia-Arms.com for awhile, and I'm curious to try some of their "Canned Heat" reloads. However, I don't want to have to sign up and enter all my information just to get an idea of the shipping. This goes for other sites as well - I know that not every site will offer free shipping, and I also know that the shipping they do charge will vary from site to site. I just want to find a way to get an idea of how much over the cost of the actual ammo I'll be paying, so I can decide whether it's really cheaper to buy online, or whether I should just keep buying locally.

Thanks!

If you enjoyed reading about "Mail Order Ammo Questions" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
brentn
August 1, 2007, 06:44 PM
First-

Read the fine print. Most sites that offer free shipping have an asertisk ** beside the "free shipping line", somwhere on the page should be information about that. For example, some will say in fine print that you have to be within continental united states to get free shipping, and/or the shipping is free for orders over 100$ and/or the shipping is free if under a certain weight.