Does new Starline brass need trimming to length?


PDA






BlindJustice
August 2, 2007, 10:11 PM
I ordered some .45 Auto RIm from Starline and on a different thread
somebody said it needs trimming to length - I know it should be no longer
than .898 and trim to .895 FWIW

ALso with Leadhead 200 gr. SWC @ 1,025 FPS is it
near +P pressure - P.S. it kicks less than 230 gr. GI Ball ammo

If you enjoyed reading about "Does new Starline brass need trimming to length?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Stinger
August 3, 2007, 01:26 AM
I have never encountered Starline brass that needed trimming. YMMV.

jhansman
August 3, 2007, 02:01 AM
I can tell you their .357 brass is juuuuuust fine. After repeated firings and resizings, it is still below max length.

ClarkEMyers
August 3, 2007, 03:33 AM
Measure it - likely not but measure it.

Many folks roll-crimp the auto rim - many don't because the dies for automatics taper crimp - because bullet pull can be an issue then again many bullets for the auto don't have a crimping groove but work fine in revolvers and all this can affect how critical exact length becomes.

CZ57
August 4, 2007, 12:40 PM
BJ: Starline is great brass, but I have ordered new cases that were very close to max length when they arrived. Your .45 ACP cases aren't likely to stretch, but, trimming to a uniform .895" will ensure that all cases are getting the same amount of taper crimp. I do this with magnum revolver cases when I load them to do what they were designed for.;)

ReloaderFred
August 4, 2007, 02:00 PM
With the .45 Auto Rim that you're inquiring about, the reason for trimming would be to ensure a uniform crimp, since the case headspaces off the rim, and not the case mouth. With that said, measure several of them and see how uniform they are. That will answer your question for you.

Hope this helps.

Fred

koja48
August 4, 2007, 05:14 PM
Starline makes great brass, but I ALWAYS measure ALL brass . . . I trust my calipers a lot more than I trust manufacturers/vendors.

Hobie
August 4, 2007, 06:00 PM
I full-length size, etc, all new brass to include "trimming". Sometimes every case needed trimming sometimes not.

GP100man
August 5, 2007, 12:27 AM
i trim mine to get consistent crimps , i can shoot em a long time before trimming again though!!1

GP100man

If you enjoyed reading about "Does new Starline brass need trimming to length?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!