Ammo prices and Armageddon.

PDA

Checkman
August 18, 2007, 01:14 PM
Excuse me. I have to get my soapbox.

Testing, testing. Is this microphone working?

Back in the "day" most gunowners shot very rarely. Ammo was expensive and not as plentiful as today. I feel confident that in the past the overall skill level wasn't as high. My grandfather and father (dad is sixty-three) remember when guns were expected to hurt somewhat when purchased and would be carried more often then shot. A typical range sessions consisted of shooting a few dozen rounds. Grandpa remembers in the 30's and during WW2 ammo was very scarce. I would estimate that it's only been in the past forty years (or less) that shooters have taken to expending ammo at such a prodigious rate. From my readings I get the impression that even the great gunsels of the past (Elmer Keith, Bill Jordan, Col. Askins, etc.) would not blow through ammo like many do today at the range.

Now I'm not an expert in economics, but times are definitely changing. But then again isn't that always the case? Reminds me of that stupid expression about an event changing the course of history. Since when does anyone really know what course history is going to take? God perhaps?

Consequently I've cut back on my shooting ( a couple times a month instead of four or five) and I've invested in snap caps. Instead of shooting two hundred rounds of 45 every session I now shoot fifty and I finally bought a 22 handgun (Browning Buckmark) a couple of years ago. Is is the same? No, but I can't afford to go through five hundred rounds in a month anymore, and that's with reloading. I really couldn't afford it six years ago but I thought I could.