Input needed regarding CCW license

PDA

Saturnine
September 8, 2007, 12:42 AM
I really want to get my CCW license, and I'm almost 21. However, I'm not sure if now is the best time to do it. I'm currently a college student (living off campus) so I couldnt carry most of the time, and I'll graduate in another year. I'll be a wildlife technician for a while after that, and probably need to move around a lot for the next few years. I live in NY, and as I understand it, we dont have reciprocity with many other states, so I'd likely have to reapply each time I move. I've considered getting a nonresident license from a state with decent reciprocity as well as a NY one, but I'm not sure if that would work.

The expense is another thing that'll kill me. I've never shot a pistol before, but so far I like the look/history of the 1911 with the Beretta 92 and would like to go with one of the two if they feel comfortable. I can afford the gun, range time, and ammunition, but the $200 in fees to get the permit would most likely put me over my limit. How absurd is it that I have to pay $200 to exercise my right to defend myself?

I'm not asking you guys to tell me what to do, but I am curious to hear what you would do in my situation. If you've had a similar situation I'd love to hear about it.

If you enjoyed reading about "Input needed regarding CCW license" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Mannix
September 8, 2007, 12:46 AM
Step one is getting a pistol and becoming proficient with it, worry about the carry later.

JMHO.

Saturnine
September 8, 2007, 12:55 AM
I wouldnt necessarily be carrying it right away. In NY I have to get the permit just to own one, and the various states I may end up temporarily living in may have similar requirements.

JLStorm
September 8, 2007, 02:57 AM
Step one is getting a pistol and becoming proficient with it, worry about the carry later.