What are good 22LR Revolvers

PDA

30-06 lover
September 12, 2007, 01:58 AM
I am very new to handguns, and am looking to buy a 22 revolver to carry while hunting (A lot of rattlesnakes around). I might see a grey squirrel or two that would look good on grill too. I am looking for an accurate 22LR revolver to meet these needs. A gun I could buy oversized grips for would be a plus. Like I said, I am very new to handguns and I am not looking for "which should I get" as much as what brands and models are always ranked high by all like the 10/22, 700, 70, etc are to rifles. Thanks!
-Mike

If you enjoyed reading about "What are good 22LR Revolvers" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Logan5
September 12, 2007, 02:39 AM
Are you after a DA or a SA revolver? In SA, the Ruger Single-Six is pretty universally loved, but I'm not sure if that's so true when we come into the venomous snake defense territory. They are pretty hot on squirrels, however. In Smiths, I guess you need to try your hand size against J and K frames, as well as some L frame .22 LR's.

XavierBreath
September 12, 2007, 07:38 AM
If you can find one, a used K-22 or Model 17 Smith & Wesson with enough finish wear to take it out of collector status. They are not cheap, so don't think "used gun, save money....". They are, however, a fantastic gun that you will love the rest of your life, as will your grandchildren when it is handed down to them. Start shopping with $500 in your pocket and go from there. These are a K frame. and have probably more grip options than any other revolver. Do not worry about the price.......you will make your money back when or if you sell it.

Another great option, designed for the use you describe, is the Smith & Wesson Model 34-1 .22/32 Kit Gun (http://xavierthoughts.blogspot.com/2006/08/smith-wesson-model-34-1-2232-kit-gun.html), but it is a J frame.