M1A scope mount


PDA






Ken C
September 14, 2007, 11:28 AM
Just acquired a M1A and am looking for a good scope mount. Springfield sells one for around $100 and was wondering if anyone out there is using it. If so, how do you like it ?

TIA, Ken C

If you enjoyed reading about "M1A scope mount" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
DnPRK
September 14, 2007, 11:50 AM
Forget the Springfield mount. Get a Sadlak or Smith Enterprises mount. They are steel copies of the original Brookfield military mount.

GunTech
September 14, 2007, 11:57 AM
+1 on SEI or Sadlak. Avoid aluminum mounts. The M1A is really hard on mounts.

trbon8r
September 14, 2007, 12:19 PM
I usually offer a dissenting opinion on this subject. I recommend the ARMS mount due to its light weight, and I like the fact that it mounts lower than the other mounts out there.

I had my new style ARMS mount modified into the older split rail type, and reparkerized by Warbird for around 50 bucks. See pics of my rifle with the ARMS mount in this thread:

http://www.thehighroad.org/showthread.php?t=289855

Gewehr98
September 14, 2007, 02:02 PM
It sits the lowest to the barrel bore than any of the other mounts. It carries a genuine NSN, but unfortunately is sometimes unobtanium thanks to current government purchases.

http://mauser98.com/m14nmbench.jpg

Closer view:

http://www.imageseek.com/m1a/gallery/albums/civilian/ARMS18M14NM.sized.jpg

lencac
September 14, 2007, 02:39 PM
I use the 2nd generation mount and 4x14 gov't model scope from Springfield. Is it the best? Maybe, maybe not. But with attention to the contacting surfaces making sure they mate completely and securely it seems to work quite well for me. I must say I like the looks of the ARMS mount though. My M1A is a custom built national match job from Springfield Armory. It's going on about 15 years old and I have thousands of rounds through it. It can still print some very impressive groups at 100yrds. off the bench. And will pretty consistantly ring the "gong" which is the top 18 inches of an acylene tank at 650 yrds.

GunTech
September 14, 2007, 02:41 PM
Sadlak Titanium

http://guntech.com/m14/sadlak-tps.jpg

Frog48
September 14, 2007, 03:34 PM
Leapers!

Haha, just kidding.

Gaiudo
September 14, 2007, 04:09 PM
As per GunTech's previous advice, I got a Smith steel (they were out of titanium). Its rock solid so far. Adds to the weight, however, so consider the titanium as well.

You can read about installing the above mount and results here: http://www.thehighroad.org/showthread.php?t=302101

10X
September 14, 2007, 05:52 PM
Ken C, you are seeing consistency in answers. I have experience with a couple of Smith Enterprise mounts. They are very well made, have adjustments to fit with the differing receiver dimensions and stay tight. Sadlak works well too. ARMS is too low on some rifles. There are reports of ejecting cases bouncing against the top of the mount and back into the action, jamming. Grinding out the center portion to make it like the old version works well.

Aluminum mounts are mostly are junk, including Springfield's. I went to aluminum mount way and was sorely disappointed. One worked loose every six rounds. With locktite it lasted one magazine. With others the aluminum flexes and won't hold zero over any length of time. An M1A has severe vibration compared to most other rifles. An M1A is the best of rifles, get a first rate mount like a Smith or Sadlak.

GunTech
September 14, 2007, 06:24 PM
To follow on to 10X, the army tested a variety of mounts before settling on the 'Brookfield' mount as the most reliable and rugged mount. The Snith and the Sadlack are both variations of the Brookfield mount. The SA mount is a version of the original M21 Leatherwood ART mount. That mount proved to be wanting in actual use.

ROMAK IV
September 14, 2007, 09:31 PM
I have a Springfield Mount. It will knock out of zero fairly easily, but if you are careful, it's fine. This is the one with the regular and piece replacing the stripper clip atachment points.

dscottw88
September 14, 2007, 10:03 PM
Do the mounts cause any brass ejection failures? I would have thought that the scope mount would make it happen a little more simply because if a casing ejected upwards at all, it would hit the mount and conflict with the bolt closing. then again, maybe it doesn't happen that often, I can't think of a reason someone would make something for a gun if it resulted in the rifle malfunctioning more... Also, does the mount attach into the stripper clip guide? Thats what I gathered from the pics.

glockman19
September 15, 2007, 03:16 PM
I have and like the 3rd generation Springfield M1A scope mounts. They fit tightly and allow for use of the Iron sights.

Peter M. Eick
September 15, 2007, 03:35 PM
The springfield mounts either seem to work or not. I am not sure why but I have 2 or 3 of the 3rd generation mounts laying around and none would work on my Super, National or Loaded. Maybe it was me, but it seemed that after a while the aluminum would peen up and it would not hold zero any more. I bought a brookfield precision and put it on the Super. It has never moved nor been adjusted since. Highly recommended.

Gewehr98
September 15, 2007, 03:39 PM
To follow on to 10X, the army tested a variety of mounts before settling on the 'Brookfield' mount as the most reliable and rugged mount. The Snith and the Sadlack are both variations of the Brookfield mount.

Lest we forget, the Sadlak copy of the Brookfield mount isn't the only one Uncle Sam is buying and installing on his M14 variants these days... ;)

BobW.
September 16, 2007, 09:22 AM
I just purchased one of the Sadack Alum M1A mounts. I chose this mount for price and the fact that an Alum mount is less likely to scratch and mar my receiver. After reading some of the above post, I'm worried.
I needed a mount for occasional load testing. After reading some of the above post I'm wondering if i should try to return it for a steel mount. One of the above post states that his mount shoots loose after just one magazine. Shooting loose during or after several hundred rounds is a problem. If ones groups were poor how would you know for sure if it was the mount or the load. Does anyone here have first hand experiance with the Sadlak Alum mount shooting loose??

TIMC
September 16, 2007, 09:47 AM
A Smith Enterprise steel mount sits on top of my m-21. I wasn't going to spend that much on the rifle and then put a less than great mount on it. They are worth the money.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v369/timc/M1AMountcloseup2.jpg?t=1189950102

If you enjoyed reading about "M1A scope mount" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!