Too many compacts.

PDA

jestic
September 19, 2007, 04:34 AM
Hello everyone:
Newbie here with some advise needed. I'm looking into getting a compact for the everyday carrying purpose but I read reviews through here ( awsome site ) and I'm getting overwelmed a bit. My budget is about $600 ( more or less ) and I would like to stay with a 40 or a 9. I will be buying two of these so a company with either a lifetime or good service history is a plus. I have a CWP for the state of Florida and I'm fully aware of the laws. I'm a big rifle guy but have nothing to carry personally, neither does my wife. Any help would be great. TIA.

Jestic

ps: Ive shot a colt defender, glock 27, sp armory ultra compact, but i'm open to suggestions.

If you enjoyed reading about "Too many compacts." here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
MPanova
September 19, 2007, 05:26 AM
Look into the Taurus Millenium Pro line. They have a PT111 = 9mm PT140 = 40s&w and the PT145 = 45acp, I know you said you want 9mm or 40 so disregard the PT145 I guess, They are small light and reliable, Taurus has a lifetime of the firearm warrenty, and they have been aorund for over 60 years, they are one of the most innovative firearms makers in the market today, My wife has a PT111 with over 8000 rounds through it and all have been flawless. I have a PT145 that has been perfect for a little over 800 rounds of various JHP.

The specs on the PT111 are

Mil Pro PT111

Capacity 12+1
Weight: 18.7 oz
Length: 6.125"
Width: 1.125"
Height: 5.125"
Barrel Length: 3.25"
Safety: Firing Pin Block,Manual Safety

compare that to the Glock 26 which you may be familiar with

Glock 26

Capacity: 10 + 1
Weight: 19.75 oz
Length: 6.29"
Width: 1.18"
Height: 4.17"
Barrel Length: 3.46"
Safety: Trigger/Firing Pin