What type of gun?

PDA

Prettywoman
September 29, 2007, 12:13 AM
Hello. I am new to this whole gun thing. I live in a very rural area where a mountain lion has been attacking and killing dogs and a miniature horse. Two nights ago, the lion tried to drag my neighbor's dog out of its dog run less than 500 feet away from my home. I have two small children to think about protecting, a 2 year old and a 4 year old. They like to play on our deck but I am afraid to let them do so right now or even to take them for a stroll around the neighborhood while this cat is loose and obviously very aggressive toward humans. Can you please tell me what type of gun would be my best bet for defense against a wild animal in my area? I do not have a license to carry a weapon but could get one. I also would use it for protection in the case of a human intruder in my home although I think that's probably less likely. Thank you in advance for your responses.

If you enjoyed reading about "What type of gun?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Hoppy590
September 29, 2007, 12:15 AM
lever action in 357 or .44 magnum. learn to swing it good.
or a 12 gauge with slugs

long guns are easier to aim with, easier to get in any restricted state, more powerfull than a pistol normaly and things like lever actions or pumps are quick to reload

Prettywoman
September 29, 2007, 12:16 AM
Thanks, Hoppy. I am planning a trip to the local gun store this weekend and will print out your response. I seriously know not one thing about guns but I am fed up about being afraid of this mountain lion so I am going to learn to use one. First time for everything, I guess.

Bartkowski
September 29, 2007, 12:19 AM
If you don't know what a lever action in .357 is than, you may want to look into things a little more before buying a gun. But I would go with one in .44 if it were just to defend against mountain lions.

Prettywoman