Limbsaver grind to fit question


PDA






dm1333
October 3, 2007, 08:42 PM
Limbsaver grind to fit pads, do you have to use the jig they mention in the instructions or is that just a way for them to make a little extra money?

If you enjoyed reading about "Limbsaver grind to fit question" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Snowdiver
October 4, 2007, 02:26 AM
You don't need that jig. Make you own template and use a vise. Be careful with the coarser grit belts and trim the pad slowly.

davera
October 4, 2007, 01:41 PM
I just completed installing one on my Win 70. We removed about 3/4 of an inch of stock and ground the pad to fit. There was (ahem) a lot of grinding. It was nice to have a buddy with a stationary belt sander (that little oscillating model from Home Depot)

Because we only had medium grit belts we were a couple of hours of very carefully sanding and test fitting, a 60 or 80 grit belt to start would have made it faster.

Bottom line, comfy pad installed, looks pretty good. And no, we did not use a jig, hand held all the way.

Take your time, be patient and careful and you'll get good results.

If you enjoyed reading about "Limbsaver grind to fit question" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!