different ways of carry

PDA

strickj
October 19, 2007, 06:20 AM
newbie here
im a wheelchair user and like to carry open for quick access but belt holsters get in my way ankleholsters dont work well for a xd 9 4inch and its hard to push with a shoulder so i deal with my belt usually.anybody have any ideas or have the same problems?

If you enjoyed reading about "different ways of carry" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
NCHornet
October 19, 2007, 07:04 AM
First let me say "Welcome to the forum"
May I suggest you look at the "Smart Carry", it is made to be worn under your clothes but I see no reason why you couldn't wear it out either. Many holster makers, I believe Galco is one of them, make a large nylon pouch that can be used and hung from the chair or around the waist.The best solution would be to get some heavy duty velcro and velcro your favorite OWB holster to the wheelchair itself. I spent quite a few months in a wheelchair during a recovery period and this worked for me.
Good luck.

Iggy
October 19, 2007, 07:27 AM
Consider some of the holsters made for car carry and anti-hijacking.

They are open carry and attach very quickly to your belt or to the seat belt in a car.

In other words it would be right there in your lap and readily accessible.

This one comes to mind.http://http://www.activeprogear.com/Model-17-3.jpg

http://www.activeprogear.com/model17.html

Another to consider would be the one made by Horseshoe Leather but it is more expensive.

http://www.holsters.org/incar-holsters.htm

Or Andrews Leather

http://andrewsleather.com/carjackerx.htm

Papaster
October 19, 2007, 01:51 PM