Recommend a first handgun?

PDA

Rapidfire_85
October 30, 2007, 01:18 AM
Alright, I'm a poor 22 year old college student. I've been shooting other peoples stuff for the past several years, but only bought my own first firearm this year. (a ruger 10/22)

I'm slowly piecing together an ar15 build, and don't have a ton of money to devote to firearms. I currently live in North Dakota, where crime is nearly non-existent. At the end of this school term I will likely be moving to a larger metropolitan area, and am looking for a center fire handgun that will be reliable and affordable.

I'm starting the process for my CCW, but I don't have any strong desires to carry as of yet. (though a relatively smaller frame handgun capable of concealed carry may be a decent choice for future needs). I like 1911 style handguns (who doesn't?) but I haven't shot one.

Sorry this post is getting long... I like the availability of .22 conversions for 1911's, I've been thinking about the Rock Island 'Tactical' 45. But I'm not sure anyone carries RIA here.

*START READING HERE* :)
Long story short. I would like to keep it under $400. The cheap hi-points do look quite attractive right now, but I figure I'd ask The High Road first. Should I buy a Hi-point now and use the $ saved for practice ammo, or the Rock Island .45 shoot it a little, try to save $ to buy a .22 conversion? What handguns should I look into? They don't have to be .45cal

:banghead::cuss: Im just confused, what am I not thinking of? HELP ME OUT GUYS! :)
-Ben

http://www.sarcoinc.com/rockislands-new.html

If you enjoyed reading about "Recommend a first handgun?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Jimmie
October 30, 2007, 01:27 AM
Poor college student. Home and self defense. First handgun. Bigger than a .22.