Win ammunition diferences? AA12 vs TRGT12

PDA

rodregier
November 1, 2007, 10:08 PM
(I've hunted THR threads, but haven't discovered the magic search terms to separate the wheat from the chaff.)

Can someone please explain why Winchester AA Light Target AA12 shotshells are more expensive than Winchester Super Target TRGT12.

Winchester's web site doesn't shed any light on this mystery, which is rather disappointing.

I would like to pick something that doesn't have the grief of Walmart cheapie shotshells with dimensional issues and steel bases that cause intermittent extraction issues. I'm just getting into aerial shotgun target shooting.

If you enjoyed reading about "Win ammunition diferences? AA12 vs TRGT12" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
ArmedBear
November 1, 2007, 10:21 PM
I would like to pick something that doesn't have the grief of Walmart cheapie shotshells with dimensional issues and steel bases that cause intermittent extraction issues

Don't buy the Winchester bulk ammo, then. A lot of people report extraction problems with them, and I have experienced the problems myself. The bulk Federals (cheap), and especially the Remingtons (more expensive), are great, and they feed perfectly.

AA's are a waste of money for practice. And for more serious shooting, I'll take STS's. That's personal preference, but I think STS's shot is better, for the same price. I use STS shot for handloading when I can get the stuff.

If you're going to start an addictive new sport, it's best to keep the costs down, at least insofar as possible.:)

Shell Shucker
November 1, 2007, 10:46 PM
Winchester AA is premium target ammo. The best of everything: case (with BRASS head), powder, primer, wad, and shot.
Super Target is ammo manufactured to a (LOW) price point. They are cheap because corners are cut so they can be sold for the lowest possible price.