Savage 11/111 or Mossberg 100 ATR

PDA

GRB
November 6, 2007, 02:50 PM
I have been hemming and hawing about buying a new gun for several months now, and as usual I am the great procrastinator; and besides that I have not had the cash. I still do not have the cash, but we paid off our credit card bills in full last month, so maybe she who must be adored will let me put a rifle on plastic. Dick's Sporting goods has a sale on Savage 11/111 rifle combos, the rifle with a scope for about $320; and Walmart has a sale on Mossberg 100 ATRs with a scope for about $315. I am thinking of really trying to get one of these before the end of the week. I have heard good and bad about both, mostly good about both. What I am asking is if you would vote on the poll on my blog at: http://ballseyesboomers.blogspot.com/, it is located at the top of the right sidebar of my blog. Of course if you want leave your reasoning for your choice, please do that here in this thread. I am interested in hearing from as many people as possible on this over the next few days.

By the way, I am kind of leaning toward the Savage in 30/06 right now.

All the best.
Glenn B

If you enjoyed reading about "Savage 11/111 or Mossberg 100 ATR" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Savage3006
November 6, 2007, 02:53 PM
I have the Savage 111 in 30-06. The rifle shoots well. I bought the package but replaced the scope with a Nikon.

skinewmexico
November 6, 2007, 03:25 PM
I'd get the Savage, just because I could always replace the barrel if I wanted in 15 minutes.

Savage3006
November 6, 2007, 03:30 PM
Can you really replace the barrel that easily. I have been told by a gunsmith that you have to return it to the manufacturer. When it is time to replace the barrel, you might as well replace the whole thing.

One thing I would like to do is to remove the barrel just to clean the chamber. It is really a pain to do.

Detritus