I'm <about to be> a New Owner.

PDA

watts300
November 9, 2007, 10:04 PM
In the next couple weeks (whenever the state sends me my updated driver's license) I plan on buying a .22.

I do not plan on hunting. Not that I have anything against hunting or hunters -- in fact, I think it's awesome catching your own food. Hunting just isn't for me.
On the other hand, having a rifle in my hands just gets my blood pumping. I just plan on target shooting at ranges, and random plinking if I can ever find some space out here in central Texas to accommodate me.
I love the idea of precision shooting and hitting that bull's eye every time; so eventually, if I can ever find the outlet, I'd like to compete.

But I'm new to all this as I have never bought a gun of my own. So my first question is pretty obvious -- is .22 a caliber that can even be used in competitions? I don't really want to buy anything other than a .22, so if it's not "competable," I just won't compete. Mostly because of the initial cost of my current choices, and secondly, the cost of ammunition.

I'm really liking the Marlin 925. I've held and handled one in a store. It feels good in my hands.
With a scope and rifle, my ceiling is ~$230. The rifle I get is one I'm going to keep indefinitely and probably give to my son one day, so the feature I'm pretty steadfast on is bolt action. However, if some one can show me another rifle in the same price range that's better, and tell me why, that's fantastic.

Any advice?

If you enjoyed reading about "I'm <about to be> a New Owner." here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Dave Markowitz
November 9, 2007, 10:10 PM