Setting headspace with a new barrel.

PDA

TehK1w1
November 10, 2007, 02:26 PM
I have a Savage 110 in .270 Win that I recently bought a new barrel for. The new barrel is chambered in 35 Whelen. I have a set of go/no go gauges for it, as well as a barrel nut wrench. My question is how do you use the gauges to set the headspacing? They do not come with instructions and I have never done this before. I know the general concept is that the go gauge should fit and the no go gauge should not, but that is about it.

If you enjoyed reading about "Setting headspace with a new barrel." here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
eliphalet
November 10, 2007, 02:59 PM
Take a look here for your Savage questions, good site.

http://www.savageshooters.com/

Onmilo
November 10, 2007, 03:57 PM
If your guages are Forster, you will have to remove the extractor from the bolt assembly to obtain a reliable read.
If your guages are Clymer or Manson they have a cutout for the extractor and this won't be necessary.

Do not lubricate the guages, place them into the chamber dry.
If your guages have an extractor cutout, orient the guage so the cutout falls under the extractor claw.
Set the barrel back until the go guage allows the bolt handle to just fully close and hand tighten the barrel nut.
Recheck with the no go guage and make sure the bolt handle does not fully close down.
Torque the nut to whatever specification Savage calls for.

Lightly lubricate the guages and put them back in their storage sleeves when you are done.

Jim Watson
November 10, 2007, 07:36 PM
Helps to take out the ejector, too; so you won't be confused by spring tension against the gauge.