I want to make BIG FIRE, need recipe

PDA

HighVelocity
November 10, 2007, 09:04 PM
My local IDPA club is having a "low light" (aka pitch dark) match on Thursday and I want to make the biggest fireball possible (within safe specs) using my 10mm handloads. What I have to work with is 180gr Ranier plated hp's and either Bullseye, Clays or Unique powder. Since I have never used my 10mm in the dark before, I have no idea which will produce the biggest muzzle flash. If none of the powders I listed are good for this, what powder do you recommend?

Thanks,
Gary

If you enjoyed reading about "I want to make BIG FIRE, need recipe" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
pistolman1974
November 10, 2007, 09:07 PM
From what I've heard/heard alliant power pistol has a pretty large muzzle flash.

kart racer
November 10, 2007, 09:10 PM
Power pistol would be the choice and you might have found a new favorite for 10mm.

SlamFire1
November 10, 2007, 09:33 PM
Every ball powder I have used has had a greater muzzle blast that any other powder type.

I have shot in other calibers, Bullseye and Unique. Those are not fire ball powders.

zxcvbob
November 10, 2007, 10:03 PM
I don't shoot 10mm, but I think 10 grains of Blue Dot or 12.5 grains of 2400 ought to do it.

RecoilRob
November 10, 2007, 10:27 PM
Of the powders you list, I'd say that Unique would have the largest flash. But, I've shot many thousand 180grn 10MM's over 10.5grns of BlueDot and they make a pretty bright flash...even in broad daylight.

Looking at the loading manuals, AA7 takes more powder than BlueDot and might make even more flash.

Theatrics aside, why would you want to blind yourself at a night shoot?

HighVelocity
November 11, 2007, 10:24 AM
Theatrics aside, why would you want to blind yourself at a night shoot?