Ruger Hawkeye Failure to Extract


PDA






Benton
November 15, 2007, 04:31 PM
I have a new Ruger Hawkeye in .257 Roberts that does not extract cartridges when the bolt is pulled. Ruger's service department sent me a replacement extractor and collar ring, but the problem remains the same after switching out the parts. I've used factory-loaded Hornady ammunition and A-Zoom snap cap rounds to test the action's function. There is no stickiness of the bolt when it is operated. The rounds appear to simply slip from the extractor's grasp once they begin pulling out from the chamber and are left sliding free forward of the bolt.

Any ideas before I send the rifle back to the factory?

If you enjoyed reading about "Ruger Hawkeye Failure to Extract" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
rcmodel
November 15, 2007, 05:24 PM
It's new, and you already tried to fix it.

Call Ruger & request a call tag.

Let them worry about what they did wrong, and pay for the shipping.

It may help prevent some other new owner from having the same problem.

http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j219/rcmodel/KTOG/1224.gif
rcmodel

RecoilRob
November 15, 2007, 09:22 PM
Are you chambering the round from the magazine? Controlled feed Mauser-type actions should be fed from the mag...that is their main advantage over the push feeders.

If you are just dropping a round into the chamber and closing the bolt on it, the extractor might not be able to slip over the rim and would fail to extract.

Work the bolt smartly both feeding and extracting and I'll bet it works fine. Don't bother sending it back just yet!

Benton
November 15, 2007, 09:30 PM
Oh yes, I'm loading from the magazine. The problem is consistent: slow or fast bolt operation, one or more rounds in the magazine.

I suppose I'll end up sending it back to the factory. I bought the thing so I'd have a .257 Roberts to hunt with this season, since the Cooper .257 I ordered won't come in until February or so. Looks like I may be out of luck this year.

rcmodel
November 15, 2007, 09:41 PM
If you are just dropping a round into the chamber and closing the bolt on it, the extractor might not be able to slip over the rim and would fail to extract.A Mauser type controlled round feed extractor has to snap over the rim, or you can't close the bolt. It would be impossible.

Try taking the bolt out and slip a round under the extractor until it is seated where it goes in the bolt-face.

Do you have a good hook on it there?
Any extractor tension to hold the round in place?

It sounds to me like something is wrong with the clearance cut in the bolt and it is holding the extractor up out of the cartridge rim.

Or you have a belted mag extractor instead of a 30-06 size one, but surely not two in a row!

But, I have not even seen a Ruger Hawkeye yet, let alone worked on one, so I'm just guessing!

http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j219/rcmodel/KTOG/1224.gif
rcmodel

If you enjoyed reading about "Ruger Hawkeye Failure to Extract" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!