quick question


PDA






rero360
November 15, 2007, 07:09 PM
hey guys, one quick question for you all, when you buy new brass, do you tunble it first before anything else?

I just bought a 1000 .45acp cases and not sure if i should tumble them first or not, they're brand new never fired. Thanks

If you enjoyed reading about "quick question" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
EddieCoyle
November 15, 2007, 07:10 PM
I don't

steve4102
November 15, 2007, 07:27 PM
I FL size all of my new brass. I tumble my FL sized brass to remove the lube, so yes I tumble new brass, but only to remove lube.

Walkalong
November 15, 2007, 07:49 PM
Size them, tumble them, knock out all the corncob, especially the primer holes, prime them, load them, shoot them, start over. :)

Grandpa Shooter
November 15, 2007, 07:56 PM
Depends on the condition of the cases. If they feel funny, or are obviously sticky or too slippery, then yes, what would it hurt?

rero360
November 15, 2007, 08:38 PM
yeah, good point, I was just worried about the little brass slivers that are everywhere on them, when i got done seperating the brass into 100 round lots my hands looked at shiny and brassy.

rero360
November 17, 2007, 11:48 PM
another quick question, didn't want to start a new thread.

I've been looking through my books, they all list max COALs, but not minimums, I take it it depends on all the components, powder, bullet type and weight.

i'm reloading the .45ACP, using fresh remington brass, 230gr FMJs. with titegroup, federal primers.

ShunZu
November 18, 2007, 01:30 AM
Ditto on "if brass feels sticky, tumble and be sure you punch it thru the first stage to make sure all corncobs are out of the primer holes.

I like 6 griains of Unique behind a 200SWC. Would be a good starting point for your 230's. A bit dirty but accurate as hell.

Steve C
November 18, 2007, 04:21 AM
Normally I run a chamfering tool on the inside and outside of new cases to break the sharp edges. If you don't you'll get little copper "wires" breaking off them when expanding, seating and crimping.

While most manuals list max OAL's which is important to ensure that the ammo will fit in the magazine, cylinder or chamber the ones from the bullet manufacturers usually list the OAL they used for the particular bullet loaded. I probably loaded for 20 years without a caliper or any other measuring device, instead I set my OAL's using factory loads. Never had a problem with any of my reloads doing that.

SilentArmy
November 18, 2007, 06:12 AM
I load about 3-5 thousandths under the COAL listed and a couple tenths under the max load on my .40 SW with new brass. If you go short, you will get Higher pressures so I compensate.

If you enjoyed reading about "quick question" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!