Reloaded some M1 Carbine last night and had a issue

PDA

brockj
November 16, 2007, 12:48 PM
I got all the final stuff I needed from Midway yesterday, so I rushed home all excited to try it out! I got the Lee carbide dies, and was very impressed with them.

After sizing all my cases I went to trim, I just use the lee trimmer, and noticed I couldn't get the trimmer all the way in, the guide was getting caught at the end. I measured, and the cases I had were within spec, so I didn't worry about it. Continued on my way...

When I got to the part about seating the bullet, I drop my charge, put it in the press, pull down and CRUNCH! The bullet crushed the brass. Thinking it was something I did, I tried again, same thing! Took a look and sure enough the brass looked to be tapered too much for the bullet. I didn't even think about it now for measuring the bullet, but they were Remington SP 110 grain.

Anyone else experience this? Is it something I am doing? I am pretty new to reloading, so any help is appreciated!

If you enjoyed reading about "Reloaded some M1 Carbine last night and had a issue" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Grandpa Shooter
November 16, 2007, 12:54 PM
What bullet type are you using? Is there a taper at the base to help getting the bullet started into the case? Is your powder die belling the case mouth to allow the bullet to seat properly? If you are using a square base bullet (untapered) and not belling the mouth of the case, then YUP you will smoosh the case.

Let us know more of the details and we can try to help you better!

ReloaderFred
November 16, 2007, 02:12 PM
You can do one of two things to solve this problem. After trimming, you need to chamfer the inside of the case mouth with a deburring tool. This should take care of your problem.