Curio and Relic reloading

PDA

JoeShmoe
November 17, 2007, 05:25 PM
I am new to reloading, but fortunately am being mentored by a friend who has been reloading rifle and handgun ammo for 30+ years. Right now I'm just loading 38 special but eventually I'd like to buy a nice shooting, interesting, C&R eligible rifle, that would also be suitable for a newbie reloader. Any suggestions to steer me in the right direction would be appreciated. I've already applied for the 03 FFL.

If you enjoyed reading about "Curio and Relic reloading" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
rcmodel
November 17, 2007, 05:35 PM
Just get something in a caliber you can get new boxer primed ammo, brass & bullets for.

Most foreign mil-sup ammo is berdan primed, steel case, or other stuff you can't reload.

Other then that, reloading for a C&L is exactly the same as reloading for anything else.

http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j219/rcmodel/KTOG/1224.gif
rcmodel

jwr_747
November 17, 2007, 06:05 PM
some good choices are 8mm Mauser ( pick any of the 1000+ models),Enfield 2A,which is 7.62x51 (.308) can use regular ole commercial brass,bullets and boxer primers. jwr

strat81
November 17, 2007, 06:06 PM
Other then that, reloading for a C&L is exactly the same as reloading for anything else.
I'd be careful with certain guns. M1 Garands are very specific about what you should feed them.

rcmodel
November 17, 2007, 06:25 PM
We have to assume the guy is going to follow established load data for whatever kind of mil-sup he ends up getting.

http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j219/rcmodel/KTOG/1224.gif
rcmodel

strat81
November 17, 2007, 06:32 PM
Indeed, but not all load books mention the M1 issue. Either way, I'm not a huge fan of very hot loads. :)

xsquidgator
November 17, 2007, 08:16 PM