Help with Switching Between OU and Semi-Auto

PDA

OUGunner
November 24, 2007, 07:09 PM
How does one adjust from shooting an OU to a semi-auto?

I've been shooting a 12-gauge Ruger Red Label for the past 10 years. I'm only 5'3" so I found that after I had the LOP shortened to 13 3/4", it shoots pretty much where I point it. My kill ratio in the field is reflected in the trap range (80%+). While this number is by no means any cause for pride on the trap, it matters most in the field. It means cleaner kills, less cripples, and easier on the wallet since the price of shells have gone up.

In the past two pheasant seasons, I've never shot more than two boxes (Kent Fast Steel #4 - 3"). That might sound like a lot of firepower for a rooster but I've tested the gamut of loads over the years and found this particular load to shoot best for me and my Red Label when it comes to pheasants.

This year I purchased a used Benelli Montefeltro (12-g in excellent condition) because the Red Label is quite heavy to carry, especially when walking through thick cattail sloughs. However, my hit ratio is dreadful! I won't mention any numbers but lets just say I'm on my 4th box and it's only Thanksgiving! I've had the LOP shortened to 13 3/4" to better fit my short arms. There's been enough birds that I flushed in front of my pointing Brittany and emptied all shells to no avail. For these close flushes, I normally count to "3 apples" before pulling the trigger. I've changed from IC to Mod to Full chokes as the season progresses and have found no consistency. Since I only shoot steel shots, I've used Kent #2 and #4 shots. Again, no improvements. Worse is the fact that the hits are not clean kills. My Brittany will do a decent job of retrieving when he sees the flush and shot but if it's a wild flush, he's not good at hunting dead. I hate losing cripples in the field.