.30-06 vs .308 vs 300 WIN MAG for beginner

PDA

JakeG27
November 26, 2007, 01:27 PM
I am buying my first rifle. I live in PA. I want one that I can practice long distance shooting with(300-750yrds.) as well as hunt large game with. Anyone have any suggestions on brands and which caliber I should go with. I am planning on putting a lot of round through the rifle. Any help will be deeply appreciated since I am new to rifles. Thanks!

If you enjoyed reading about ".30-06 vs .308 vs 300 WIN MAG for beginner" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
TheLaxPlayer
November 26, 2007, 01:35 PM
.30-06 and .308 will be nearly identical for your purposes, and .30-06 ammo is cheaper lately.

300 Win Mag is a barrel burner with expensive ammo. If you're moose hunting it maybe be better than the other two, but for target shooting and most game I think the .30-06 is your best bet.

rcmodel
November 26, 2007, 01:39 PM
Ya got two threads going with the same question there Jake!

http://www.thehighroad.org/showthread.php?t=319101

http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j219/rcmodel/KTOG/1224.gif
rcmodel

homers
November 26, 2007, 02:16 PM
243, and reload if you plan on putting a lot of rounds out.

JakeG27
November 26, 2007, 03:08 PM
whats reload mean? hmm im not familiar with 243 either...can u give anymore on that?

UnTainted
November 26, 2007, 03:21 PM
243 is sweet. shoots flatter (less drop), recoils less and has dropped deer for me just as quick as my 30-06.

still, though: i recomend a 8 pound or more 30-06 rifle to start. It'll do everything you want it to, with rounds costing less than $1 for some boxes.

Fast Frank
November 26, 2007, 03:35 PM
Jake, I'm getting the feeling that you don't have a lot of shooting experience.

Normally, at this point, I would recommend that you get some.

Getting shooting experience requires firing lots and lots of bullets at targets under varied conditions and at varied ranges.