Armalite AR 24 Range Report

PDA

RPCVYemen
November 30, 2007, 12:14 AM
I just took my Ar-24 to the range and shot it.

Unfortunately I am not a whizbang shooter, so I can't tell you much about accuracy. I am still learning how to shoot. I can usually - with the Blackhawk - call my shots as the leave the barrel. By that I mean, that the sight picture right before the recoils hits tells me whether the shot is going to be a good one or not. I don't meant that all of them are good, but generally, the Blackhawk shoot pretty much where I am it. Tonight shooting freehand at 25 meters, I shot about a 4" group with my Blackhawk. That's sort of my limit right now.

I did not shoot the AR-24 that well, but it also seemed to put the rounds where I aimed them.

I had fun. It worked fine. I had one failure to extract, but I had a very loose grip with that shot. I generally shoot a Ruger Blackhawk, and I was monkeying around with my grip, trying to adjust to an auto.

The hardest thing for me to adjust to is the patience during the trigger pull - the Blackhawk has next to no creep, so switching to a DA/SA auto, it feels like it takes 15 minutes to pull smoothy through.

I got the AR-24 with the adjustable sights and the checked grips. I really liked sights and the grips. The sight were a big help to my tired old eyes.

I got the 15 rounder, and I sort of wished I hadn't. Boy, I burned through some ammo in a hurry. I was shooting some Walmart Winchester 115gr, and I burned through 100 of them a lot faster than I go through the 45 LC in my Blackhawk.

There was a guy at the range who had a CZ 75. We exchanged guns and shot a magazine. Between the weight of the AR-24 and checkering, it didn't tend to jump anywhere near as high in recoil. The extra weight of the steel fame makes quite a difference. The trigger pull on his CZ 75 seemed a lot longer, but also slightly smoother. He said he's got about 1500 rounds through his CZ 75 - I hope the AR-24 smooth out as I shoot it.