Casting your own?

PDA

kount_zer0
November 30, 2007, 12:56 AM
I'm just getting into cast bullet accuracy with my RBH 45 Colt. I appreciate all the feedback on powder selection.

My question is simple ;)

With LBT back in business and all of the usefull info available "at a glance", is it "worth it" to start casting now? With metal prices through the roof and cast bullet (in a box-over the counter) following suit, I've been interested in casting my own for a while now. I think I can get better results, more tailor made projectiles and the pride and satisfaction of a job well done, on paper as well as game (it's always Jug O' Water season anyway).

But, what about cost savings? Is this still valid. I've got no source for free or near free lead. WW alloy is what I'd like to shoot even water-dropped from what I've read, but I'd be buying this retail unless I can find a local source for cheap.

Sorry for the long post.

Thank you for such a great forum.

If you enjoyed reading about "Casting your own?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
ReloaderFred
November 30, 2007, 01:18 AM
Casting bullets can either be an enjoyable pursuit, of a bothersome chore, depending on your nature and needs. I find it enjoyable to be able to cast bullets that I can't get anywhere else.

It's just like reloading when it comes to buying the original equipment. The initial cost seems high, but amortized out over many years makes it much more economical. I've got several thousand dollars invested in casting equipment, but I make bullets that I can't find anywhere else with it. (how about a .577 Snyder hollow base bullet?)