Painting an AR

PDA

rc109a
December 9, 2007, 09:38 PM
Ok, I have seen posts about people painting bolt guns and AR's on this forum, but I ahve a question about the AR's. What should I cover and not paint? I would assume the dust cover and the lens of the optics, but what else? Should I remove the BCG? I am going to use Duracoat and it is my understanding that it is thicker then Krylon. My searches showed some good work, but is there a link for step by step directions? Thanks...

If you enjoyed reading about "Painting an AR" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
rc109a
December 11, 2007, 06:25 PM
Nobody has done this with an AR? Any advice?

Henry Bowman
December 11, 2007, 06:36 PM
Good question. I have zero experience in this are and would like an answer also.

I have a parkerized stripped lower (much simpler issue that for the upper or a completed lower) that I would like to paint with Duracoat. I figured that I would cover the threads (where the buttstock mounts) by "screwing" in a 1" (or so) wooden dowel. That would protect the threads and give me something to hold onto and a way to prop it up to dry.

Duracoat's website has a lot of good information, but doesn't answer this question. I have not yet searched arfcom (www.ar15.com) where there are likely to many 9different) answers to this question.

Anybody?

I don't know about which of the other openings are of such close tolerance that even a thin layer of Duracoat would be too much for roll pins and other parts to fit properly.

Sunray
December 11, 2007, 11:34 PM
Go here. http://www.houtsenterprises.net/dur_easy.html

rc109a
December 12, 2007, 10:40 AM
By those directions it states that everything needs to be taken apart and painted as individualt pieces. That is interesting. I always thought they did them as a complete unit.

Mac's
December 13, 2007, 10:32 PM