M1A question


PDA






mr_blove
December 14, 2007, 04:55 AM
I have seen pictures of the M14 with a flip up plate to rest on the shoulder of the shooter to stabilize the firearm, my question is are they out on the market available for sale?

If you enjoyed reading about "M1A question" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
nwilliams
December 14, 2007, 06:27 AM
I have one on mine....
http://i211.photobucket.com/albums/bb264/nwilliams27/M1a-art.jpg


It makes the gun extremely comfortable to shoot I really love it. As you can see in the pic my M1a has an M14 stock on it, when I bought the gun it was already like this.

Check these sites......
http://www.raparts.com/Products/m14parts.html
http://www.armscorpusa.com/Products/m14parts.html
http://www.chestnutridge.com/14pic.asp

Texas Moon
December 14, 2007, 07:03 AM
Yep.

http://www.chestnutridge.com/products/m14.asp

http://www.sarcoinc.com/m14.html

Fulton Armory has them but quite a bit more $$$$$.

Hope this helps.

Swampy
December 14, 2007, 08:21 AM
I have seen pictures of the M14 with a flip up plate to rest on the shoulder of the shooter to stabilize the firearm, my question is are they out on the market available for sale?

Thats the standard M14 buttplate. Should be one on every M14 repro with a standard wood or fiberglass buttstock that you see... i.e. SA Inc. M1A, Nori-Poly M14's, ets.....

Best.
Swampy

Garands forever

cuervo
December 14, 2007, 09:00 AM
You're not missing much by not having one.

They are a part of the M14 in the gov's attempt to also have the M14 be a light machine gun. For normal shooting, a sling is going to give you much better stability.

The only exception might be something like the picture above where you are using a bipod which would preclude the use of a sling.

But, take a look at the picture and notice how high the hinged plate comes up. This means that by using it, the rifle will be sitting lower on your shoulder than you would probably like, which negates any benefit you'll have by using it.

Onmilo
December 14, 2007, 10:04 AM
The plate keeps the trapdoor clean and the checkering nice and sharp..

I have done quite a bit of business with this guy.
He is straight up and his parts are as advertised.
He has some buttplate assemblies and the screws and the swivel too.
http://www.billricca.com

nwilliams
December 14, 2007, 03:25 PM
When shooting from a bench or prone it is extremely nice to have, standing I don't use it.

GunTech
December 14, 2007, 04:12 PM
I prefer the steel GI buttplate as well. The rubber pad that Springfield puts on some of their rifles adds about 1.5 inches to length of pull. 308 in a heavy rifle like the M1A just doesn't have that much recoil.

Slinky
December 14, 2007, 05:50 PM
can you add those plates straight to the SA synthetic stocks? or is there some actual smithing involved?

GunTech
December 14, 2007, 08:19 PM
The steel butt plate bolts right onto the synthetic stock. Just be warned that most kits don't supply the two screws you need. I had to hunt around for the upper screw, the lower is easy to find. Save the screws that came with your rubber pad!

If you want a buttplate assembly, let me know. I can get you a pretty good price, or you can order direct from brownells.

http://www.brownells.com/aspx/ns/store/ProductDetail.aspx?p=21393&title=BUTT%20PLATE%20ASSEMBLY,%20COMPLETE

Andrewsky
December 14, 2007, 09:18 PM
I think Fred's M14 Stocks has them as well.

byf43
December 14, 2007, 10:47 PM
I have done quite a bit of business with this guy.
He is straight up and his parts are as advertised.
He has some buttplate assemblies and the screws and the swivel too.
http://www.billricca.com


Agreed. Mr. Ricca is one stand-up guy. He knows his M14 rifles and M1 Garands.

I wouldn't hesitate to buy from him. I wouldn't hesitate one second.

GunTech
December 14, 2007, 11:38 PM
Keep in mind that Fred's is reliable, but sloooooowwww.

Andrewsky
December 15, 2007, 12:06 AM
I ordered a stock from Fred's on November 10th. It'll be here any year now.:uhoh:

JImbothefiveth
November 28, 2008, 01:25 PM
I stumbled upon this thread, and thought it would be better to bring it back than start a new thread.

Can the m1a use any m14 gear, such as stocks?

General Geoff
November 28, 2008, 01:44 PM
Stocks, yes.

Mechanical parts, that sorta depends on the manufacturer. Springfield Armory Inc. manufacturers their receivers to slightly different dimensions than mil-spec, so G.I. parts such as bolt assemblies and such may or may not fit.

natescout
November 28, 2008, 01:53 PM
the m1a is the civilian version of the m14, so most parts should be interchangeable , i.e. the stock , sights , and trigger group

lipadj46
November 28, 2008, 05:00 PM
Pretty much every M14 part except for the full auto parts from the M14 can be used on the SAI M1A. That includes bolt, bolt guts, sites, entire trigger assembly, entire gas cylinder assembly, Operating Rod, barrel, stock, handguard etc...

If you enjoyed reading about "M1A question" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!