safe garand ammo for hunting

PDA

hkenvy91
December 19, 2007, 09:09 PM
gonna be doe season in a week and i thought about taking a deer for the freezer with my garand. anyhow i talked to the local gun peddlers around my way and they recemended federal power-shok 150g soft point.

will that be safe to shoot without damaging the oprod?
ive only shot cmp greek hxp

If you enjoyed reading about "safe garand ammo for hunting" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Roswell 1847
December 19, 2007, 09:12 PM
All I can say on the matter is that a friend that uses his Garand for Deer swears by the Bronze Point ammo. I think he uses Remington 150 gr Bronze point because it has the same point of impact as ball in his gun at least.
http://www.whiskeyrivertools.com/huntingandfishing/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=5677_5703&products_id=64342

vector248
December 19, 2007, 09:17 PM
I am no expert on the Garand by any stretch, but i have read posts in several places that it is a bad idea to shoot comercial ammo through your M1 becasuse there is a small threash hold of powder burn rate, and outide of that thrashold can damage your rifle. I only use M2 Ball myself, since i am not willing to take the chance of damaging my M1. hopefully someone smarter than i on this will chime in

mustanger98
December 19, 2007, 09:25 PM
Everything I understand about the M1 is that you don't want powders with burn rates outside the narrow range between IMR4064 and IMR4895... between 42 and 50 grains... consult reloading manuals; mine's Hornady's 5th Edition.

My Garand-safe hunting loads are handloaded Hornady 165grSP over enough IMR4064 or IMR4895... I have some of both, but don't mix 'em up and run 'em at the same time... to run 2600fps. I've also shot 'em in a commercial-built '03A3 with good results.