Ammo Shortage merged threads, aka UberUltraMasterAmmoThreadOfPower

PDA

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

UTdave
December 30, 2007, 05:28 PM
So I'm just getting into this, I have my first 9mm handgun. The prices for practice ammo are easy enough to figure out, but I'm getting a little confused about pricing discrepencies with the high end stuff. My first purchase was 20 speer gold dots for $20. Yikes! When I took my CFP class, the instructor mentioned that we could expect to pay about a $1 a round for good defensive ammo, so I was thinking that's just the way it is. Then I do some more shopping around town and start finding other brands that I thought were top shelf, like Federal HST, at $18 for a 50-box. So why is there such a wide price range? Is there really that big of a difference in quality between these brands?

If you enjoyed reading about "Ammo Shortage merged threads, aka UberUltraMasterAmmoThreadOfPower" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
kd7nqb
December 30, 2007, 05:41 PM
Any sort of defensive ammo is going to be much more expensive. Speer gold dots at ~$1 each is about right. I don't know much about HST's so I wont comment on them. Practice ammo for 9mm is much cheaper you can get it for about $9/50rounds. Find the cheapest ammo that your gun will run with reliably and use that for practice (I personally wont run steel case stuff through my guns but thats me). Also accuracy will vary with ammo prices and brands. The best solution is to go to wherever you buy your ammo and buy many different brands and shoot them. This does a few things,

1. Get you range time with your gun
2. Tells you what you like and don't like about each brand of Ammo
3. Lets you see the variety in ammo available.

ROMAK IV
December 30, 2007, 05:44 PM
+1 with the exception being, practice with enough of your defensive ammunition to make sure it feeds reliably, and prints similiar to your practice ammunition.