Two Questions....

PDA

IThunter
January 3, 2008, 12:13 PM
I am new to reloading so please bear with me...

After reading my Speers reloading manual I have noticed that is mentions several times not to substitute components...I can buy that to a point but what about brass? They tested with Winchester...does that mean I shouldn't use my Remington Brass?

Also, while decapping I broke my decapping pin out of my RCBS Universal Decapping Die :banghead:...would anyone know the part number for that? I checked the catalog with RCBS and only found the entire unit.

Thanks for all the help.

If you enjoyed reading about "Two Questions...." here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
rcmodel
January 3, 2008, 12:34 PM
90164 - HEADED DECAPPING PIN 5-PACK $ 2.95
49630 - HEADED DECAPPING PIN 50-PACK $ 13.95
9609 - DECAPPING PIN 5-PACK LG $ 2.95
49629 - DECAPPING PIN LG 50-BULK PACK $ 12.95
9608 - DECAPPING PIN 5-PACK SM $ 2.95
49628 - DECAPPING PIN SM 50-BULK PACK $ 12.95
9602 - DECAP PIN .50 BMG 2-PACK $ 5.95

Yes, you can generally substitute cases without too much undue concern.

There are exceptions, such as military brass, and anytime you are already using a maximum load. If in doubt, you can weigh cases and compare them. If they weight more, they have less internal capacity and max loads should be approached with caution.

Bullets are more critical due to differences in jacket hardness, bullet shape effecting bearing surface, lead, jacketed, or plated (Speer Gold-Dot for instance), etc. Use the bullet called for in the load data.

Primers are primers. If the data says use magnum primers use them. Doesn't matter much who makes them.
If it says standard primers, any brand of standard primer will work fine.

This goes without saying, you should always work up loads anytime you detour off the prescribed components called for.

http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j219/rcmodel/KTOG/1224.gif
rcmodel

ForneyRider