Question on Hard Cast Lead for Newbie

PDA

y2k600f4
January 3, 2008, 02:00 PM
Hi, I am new to the forum but have been reading the many great post for awhile. I am also new to reloading and I am just getting ready to order a Lee Classic Turret package which includes (Lee Classic Turret Press, small and large primer feeders, Lee pro auto disc powder measure, auto riser disc, lee rifle charging die, lee safety scale; lee 4 die set in 9mm,38/357,45ACP along with a few spare turrets, and the Lee Modern Reloading 2nd edition). I have read many posts that say I should go with a different scale and add a few other books (still reading posts) and I may either order those now or later. I plan on starting off reloading some 9mm and I am in the process of ordering some hard cast bullets and narrowed it down to either mastercast or keadbullets (both seem to be excellent companies). I have yet chose a powder brand or load but wanted to first get the bullets ordered. My choices are the mastercast (2%/6%) 9MM 125 gr CN or keadbullets (2%/8%---harder bullet) in 9MM 122 gr FP, 125 gr RN or 147 gr FP. I am leaning towards the Keadbullets 125 gn RN as recomended by Keadbullets. They will be used primarily for indoor range target shooting and some outdoor plinking and right now will be used in either a SA XD-9 or Taurus PT99; but may be shot in other guns in the future including glocks. My concern was I read that the factory crimp maybe a problem due to the harder bullet ??? Will this be an issue on the classic turret ? Any opinions or recomendations on the 9mm bullet would greatly be appreciated or any other coments on my reloading setup. Thanks in advance !!

If you enjoyed reading about "Question on Hard Cast Lead for Newbie" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
trickyasafox
January 3, 2008, 02:24 PM