size/trim or trim then size

PDA

bigbird1
January 7, 2008, 09:18 PM
just wondering if you trim then size wouldn't it stretch the case when you size it? I read on another post on here that you trim the case then size/deprime. just want to get it right thanks

If you enjoyed reading about "size/trim or trim then size" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
<SLV>
January 7, 2008, 09:23 PM
I'm new to this, but I just read in the "ABC's of Reloading" that you always trim AFTER resizing because the case does change shapes.

SASS#23149
January 7, 2008, 09:32 PM
sizing on bottle neck cartridges sets the shoulder back,and sometimes the expander ball will pull it back out a tad,so trim then size.

WNTFW
January 7, 2008, 09:33 PM
Yep Size then Trim

The only twist on this is what some guys are saying about RCBS X-dies.

For normal situations size, then trim,

bigbird1
January 7, 2008, 09:45 PM
Good, thats what I started doing, Size/decap then ream primer pocket then trim then retumble. thanks guys

Idano
January 7, 2008, 10:43 PM
Gentlemen:

After a little research tonight while replying to this thread (http://www.thehighroad.org/showthread.php?p=4066864&posted=1#post4066864) I discovered that there has been contradicting information published in Speer and possibly other manuals. According to my Speer manuals 9 and 10 it clearly states that Step one is clean, inspect and Trim before Step 2, Resize. However, my Sierra and Hornady manuals instruct you to Resize then Trim. The Sierra manual even comments what <SLV> stated that the case length will change when resized.