Bushmaster XM15 stuck cartridges

PDA

xsquidgator
January 21, 2008, 08:50 AM
I have a slightly different issue than the usual "AR15 stuck case" thread, and I have done some searching w/o seeing this issue.

I have a Bushmaster XM-15 (556 chamber) that I bought lightly used a month or two ago. It's had a total of maybe 500 rounds fired through it, of which I've fired maybe 300 or so. The problem I have intermittently is this:

Once in a while when I'm shooting, for some reason I'll stop shooting before the magazine is emptied. No problem, eject magazine, use charging handle to pull bolt to rear and eject unfired cartridge, right? Most of the time this works ok. But now twice on two different days I've had an unfired cartridge get good and stuck in the chamber, the charging handle just WOULD NOT pull back, perhaps a fraction of an inch if I really gronked on it using my hands. I could tell it moved a little because the forward assist would then move forward a little bit.

I tried working it back and forth with the charging handle and the forward assist, to no avail. Since I was at the range, I solved the problem both times it's happened by firing the round. Each time I did this, the ejector removed the round like there was no problem, chamber was totally empty and no damage to the case rim that I could see. It was just so tight I couldn't budge it by hand. So far the most I've shot in a single range session is 100 rounds or so, usually less, and I clean the rifle after every session even though it's probably not necessary. The first stuck cartridge experience happened a few weeks ago, so I bought a 223 chamber brush and used it the last time I cleaned the rifle. Yesterday I had another stuck case.