Getting started reloading, do I have everything covered?

PDA

givo08
February 6, 2008, 04:35 PM
I'm new to reloading and have been researching it quite a bit online to figure out how I want to get it setup. I've read the faq at the top of this forum a few times for suggestions and wanted to run my plan past this group to see if I'm missing anything. I also have read the reviews of the products at Midway to see the pros and cons of some of the equipment. I'm definitely trying to get into it for minimal cost, while still getting decent quality equipment. I'm looking for best value for the money in a lot of categories rather than the best thing out there. I'll list the cost of each item at Midway when I priced it.

First, I will probably be shooting 400-500 rounds/month at the most. I want to start out loading only .45 acp, but eventually will want to load .357 mag (don't have one yet), 9mm, and .223/5.56x45 (also don't have a gun in this yet) sometime in the next 2 years.

I'm leaning toward the Lee Classic Turret press $87 (up to 200 rds/hr) due to the recommendation on this forum for good quality for the money. I don't think I need a progressive yet due to the lower volume of shooting I do. It also seems a little safer for a beginner to start out on a single stage/turret press, correct me if I'm wrong?

For other accessories i'm looking at:
-Hornady Carbide Die (.45 acp) $23.99
-Powder Measure/Dispenser -- I haven't settled on a brand yet but leaning toward Lee $18.99 (not automatic). If I go for an automatic I was looking at a Hornandy one $65.99.
-Powder Scale - RCBS 505 $65.00. Open to recommendations here.
-Calipers - Frankfort Arsenal $26
-Reloading Manual - Hornady $29.99. Although also open to suggestions if I should just get a .45acp manual only ($6.99) to start with.
-Bullet Puller - RCBS Collet $10.99
-Shell Holder
-Plastic Storage Bins

Extras: