New Lock-n-Load ap press


PDA






rechilcot
February 7, 2008, 03:26 PM
This will be my first post. Thanks to everyone for all the information that you provide for a noob like me.

After loading pistol ammo in 45 acp, 40 S&W and 357 sig, on a single stage Lyman, I decided to buy a progessive loader. After days of research it came down to the Hornady LNL and the Dillon 550. I went with the Hornady for no other reason than cost and the auto index feature.

Along with the press, I ordered the appropriate shell plates for my calibers, LNL conversion set to convert my Lyman and LNL bushings for all my dies.

Now for my questions:
1. Do I need to order any powder die expanders in order to use the powder drop system?

2. Other than grinding the Lee FCD, is there any other solution for the factory crimp die/ejector inter ference problem. (This is quite important, since the Lee FDC in the 357 sig is a God send)

Thanks for help,
Rich

If you enjoyed reading about "New Lock-n-Load ap press" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
DaveInFloweryBranchGA
February 7, 2008, 04:31 PM
1. Do I need to order any powder die expanders in order to use the powder drop system?

Yes, you would have to and you can or if you already own Lee die sets, you can buy and use a Lee Pro Auto Disk powder measure. I own both a Hornady LnL AP w/powder measure and a couple Lee die sets in various calibers. With the Lee die sets, because I already had an expander, I used a Lee Pro Auto Disk and have had very good results with a good number of pistol powders. A couple options for you.

2. Other than grinding the Lee FCD, is there any other solution for the factory crimp die/ejector interference problem. (This is quite important, since the Lee FDC in the 357 sig is a God send)

You have two options. You can grind a bit of the die off (Really not a big deal -you don't have to grind huge amounts.) or you can remove the ejector wire and just flick the loaded cartridges out of the shellplate when you put on the next bullet, which you have to do anyway, unless you've got a KISS bullet feeder installed.

Hope this helps you,

Dave

Bowfishrp
February 7, 2008, 04:49 PM
Do you already own expanders with your die set? I use them instead of a powder drop/expander....I assume that is what you are asking.

The hornady powder measure comes withe the different powder drops for different size cases but if you want to expand the cases at the same time, that is extra.

I hand load all my primers and do not use a crimp die so probably have a little more room in the press.

pinkymingeo
February 7, 2008, 04:52 PM
I quit using my FCD's. They added too much strain when pulling the handle, and I've never really felt the need for them. I now seat/crimp in station 5, and have an RCBS Lock-Out die in station 4. The RCBS has already saved me grief a couple of times when operator error messed up the process, and gives me such a warm fuzzy I don't care to load without it.

Luggernut
February 7, 2008, 08:40 PM
If you want to use the Power Drop AS the expander then you do need a new Powder Thru Expander (PTE) for each case.

Here is what I do:

1) Decap/sise
1.5) Prime
2) Powder/Expander
3) Powder Cop
4) Seating
5) Crimp

jenrob
February 7, 2008, 10:50 PM
Want is the key word need/ no but the expanders are the best way to go. After you set them up a couple of times it gets easier to do. the first time you do it just take your time. I went and got 4 extra (5 total) quick change powder die for my expanders and one for rifle. This way it is pull a spring loosen the powder bracket and then change over set up already done.

Like above useing the expander allows the use of a powder cop, lockout die, or Dillon powder check die. I like the Dillon myself just because it is audio (buzzer) and I have other things I watch during the loading. Looking to watch the primer system watching the case feeder.

Idano
February 7, 2008, 11:10 PM
rechilcot,

It is like jenrob said powder die expanders are not required and personally I have never seen a need for them myself with five stations. Unless I am loading 357 sig with two resizing dies I usually have at least one station open and with rifle always two since I always prep my cases way in advance.

If you enjoyed reading about "New Lock-n-Load ap press" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!