Newbie with a New Rifle

PDA

misternothingman
February 9, 2008, 06:31 PM
I'm very new to firearms and have loved it so far. This site has helped a lot in building my knowledge base, but being as new as I am to this, with very few people I'm close to knowing much about guns, I'm left in the dark on some things. Specifically proper cleaning. I have in the past been to the range with a friend that has some nice guns and had fun firing, but when time came to clean those guns, I wasn't around.

Now I've got a Remington 700 ADL that I am going to be using for medium/long range (out to maybe 400 yards) target shooting and hunting. I have literally no idea what I need to do after shooting my rifle in order to see that it is ready to go in either the next day or a few months later when I have a little time and can bring it back out. I'm sure there are a few websites dedicated to proper rifle cleaning, but I was just wanting to hear any tips or preferences that you guys might have as far as certain techniques or one brand over another. I'm going to go buy what I need to clean it before I go shoot it, and since I have nothing on hand, I'll need to buy oil, and a cleaning kit, but what else? Just curious to see what you guys had to say. What should I buy, and what should I skip or stay away from?

My apologies if this has been discussed at length on a thread a month ago or whatever. This seemed a bit below the experience level of most topics on here. If you find a thread aimed at this sort of thing, just post the link for me. Thanks for the help!

If you enjoyed reading about "Newbie with a New Rifle" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Six O'clock Tactical
February 9, 2008, 06:56 PM
I have no experience with the Rem 700, so Ill stick to the basics of my experiences.