Ammo problem in my Bushmaster

PDA

davepool
February 10, 2008, 10:08 PM
I have a Bushmaster 20" Target model and recently purchased some bosnian 62 grain green tip penetrator ammo, after about 20 rounds i start to experience FTEs to the point i have punch the empty shell out of the chamber with my cleaning rod, has anyone else tried this ammo or had similar problems?

If you enjoyed reading about "Ammo problem in my Bushmaster" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
KC&97TA
February 10, 2008, 10:11 PM
My guess, the Bushy is chambered for .223, and I'd assume the green tip is nato 5.56mm. The 2 are not interchangeable like many seem to think.

There are 3 different chamberings common to AR15's
-5.56mm
-wyle <-- or something to that effect

Magnuumpwr
February 10, 2008, 10:27 PM
Did you buy this rifle new or used? If new the left side of your receiver will tell all. Does it say 223-5.56mm or just 223?

davepool
February 10, 2008, 10:40 PM
Bought it new, its chambered in .223-5.56

I have a Kel Tec PLR-16 also and this ammo does the same thing in it; it's made by "Igman" in bosnia

stubbicatt
February 10, 2008, 11:22 PM
Sounds like you have an ammo issue. Does the rifle work properly with other ammo?

HOLY DIVER
February 10, 2008, 11:25 PM
i'd umm switch ammo.....try shooting the ammo in a bolt gun?just to get rid of it?i got ahold of some 223 that would not shoot in my mini14 or AR but my old savage 223 bolt gun shoots and groups just fine with it....in an AR-15 i've found remm. umc shoots the best for the price

W.E.G.
February 10, 2008, 11:38 PM
My guess, the Bushy is chambered for .223

Not even remotely likely.

davepool
February 10, 2008, 11:40 PM
Yea that's what i'm thinking also, it's the ammo, all of the other ammo i've used works fine, guess i'm stuck with 400 rnds of junk. The guy that sold it said Igman was the only european manufacturer licensed to make ammo for the U.S. military