Tubb'sŪ Final Finish Bore Conditioning Ammo ????

PDA

NY'er
February 12, 2008, 11:03 PM
Has anyone use this? I'd love to hear~ good, bad or indifferent...

Thanks!
NY'er

Tubb'sŪ Final Finish Bore Conditioning Ammo

http://www.cabelas.com/cabelas/en/templates/links/link.jsp?id=0044350216321a&type=product&cmCat=SEARCH_RESULTS_NYR&returnPage=search-results2.jsp&Ne=2510&noImage=0&Ntt=.223&Ntk=Products&QueryText=.223&Ntx=matchall&N=3713&trueNum=67

If you enjoyed reading about "Tubb'sŪ Final Finish Bore Conditioning Ammo ????" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
TheLaxPlayer
February 12, 2008, 11:06 PM
Some people swear by it, most people consider it rubbish. Heck, most people consider break-in rubbish.

Personally I see nothing wrong with using regular ammo to "break-in" the barrel. I'd just clean it a bit more often until it stops copper fouling as much and then you're good to go. I'm no expert, but Gale McMillan recommended this and he was pretty much the ultimate authority on such matters. According to him, the reason that break-in was made a big deal was simply benchrest barrel makers wanting buyers to wear out their new barrels faster so they'd need another one sooner. Not sure why people feel the need to shoot grit covered bullets down their new barrel :eek:

jerkface11
February 12, 2008, 11:27 PM
You don't use the Tubb lapping system on a match grade barrel. You use it on one that isn't shooting good to start with. While Mr. McMillan is certainly an expert on accurate rifles Mr. Tubb is hardly a novice.

skinewmexico
February 12, 2008, 11:32 PM
Works great for moving your throat.

mgregg85
February 13, 2008, 12:15 AM
I seem to recall reading a magazine article about this product, can't remember where. They used it on a rifle fresh out of the box, so you really couldn't tell if it helped or not.

bl4ckd0g
February 13, 2008, 01:29 AM