Can someone recommend a high quality .22 LR rifle?

PDA

catargetshooter
February 17, 2008, 09:23 AM
I'm relatively new to shooting, and so far my experience has only been with handguns. Now though I'm ready to get my own rifle (yes, I live in one of the worst states in nation for this hobby). Anyway, I have no idea what would be considered a good brand for a .22 rifle so I'd like general recommendations on what companies are considered good manufacturers? I'd like something that would last a lifetime. Help, tips, advice, anything on this topic would be appreciated. Sorry my question is so vague but I have to start somewhere.

Thanks,

If you enjoyed reading about "Can someone recommend a high quality .22 LR rifle?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
BryanP
February 17, 2008, 09:27 AM
CZ 452 would be my first choice. It's a sweet little bolt action .22lr. You can get them with or without iron sights. I'd suggest with iron sights as you can still mount a scope if you wish to do so. Accurate as hell and reasonably priced. If you're just starting out you can't go wrong with a bolt action .22.

If you prefer semi-auto you can buy a basic little Ruger 10/22 which can be upgraded/modified in many ways, or buy a pre-"upgraded" target model.

CZ 452 Lux with iron sights

http://www.cz-usa.com/data/productimg/main003.png

CZ 452 American with a scope

http://www.cz-usa.com/data/productimg/main001.png

CZ 452 FS (mannlicher stock)

http://www.cz-usa.com/data/productimg/main045.png

Basic Ruger 10/22

http://www.ruger.com/Firearms/images/Products/278L.jpg

Target 10/22 (without a scope mounted)

http://www.ruger.com/Firearms/images/Products/16L.jpg

cgs500
February 17, 2008, 09:27 AM
Ruger 10/22 is a fun semi auto with a bunch of accessories.

jwxspoon
February 17, 2008, 09:33 AM