I don't think my scale is accurate

PDA

ny32182
February 21, 2008, 08:57 PM
I have an RCBS Rangemaster 750.

I calibrate it per the directions and using the check weights, which are 20 and 30 grams.

Once I zero it out, the check weights weigh 20.02, 30.03, etc.

After some calibrations, the check weights will weigh 20.03, 30.04.

My 68gr match bullets are weighing 68.2 after one calibration. 68.3gr after another. Etc.

Help...

If you enjoyed reading about "I don't think my scale is accurate" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
ny32182
February 21, 2008, 09:11 PM
Furthermore, according to the chart here:

http://www.metric-conversions.org/cgi-bin/util/conversion-chart.cgi?type=5&from=3&to=17

I am supposed to be getting 308.6 and 463.0 grains for the 20 and 30 gram check weights, respectively. On this current calibration, I am getting 309.1 and 463.6.

moosehunt
February 21, 2008, 09:16 PM
It appears that your balance is pretty accurate, but the precision may be off. But, are you dead sure your check weights are precise? How many different times did you weigh that 1 bullet? Do you know the precise weight of the bullet? What degree of precision and accuracy is the balance supposed to produce? You may be there, but until we know those answers, can't say.

ny32182
February 21, 2008, 09:21 PM
First, I don't know if the check weights are accurate. For now, those have to be the gold standard by which the system is judged.

If the scale is calibrated using those two weights, then no matter whether they are perfect or not, they should at least be a reference point, right? So if I calibrate with a 20 gram weight, and then the same weight weighs 20.02 or 20.03 grams a couple minutes later, I have a problem, right?

ny32182
February 21, 2008, 09:38 PM