How many of you use Mobil 1 on your auto pistols?

PDA

tblt
March 5, 2008, 09:03 PM
I am new to auto pistols just bought a P95, I have 4 revolvers and have always used Hoppe's #9 oil but I here a lot of talk about Mobil !.I use Mobil 1 5w-30 in both my trucks should I be using it on my guns?
If so what weight?
5-30
10-30
10-40
15-40 or 50

If you enjoyed reading about "How many of you use Mobil 1 on your auto pistols?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
floydster
March 5, 2008, 09:08 PM
I use Castrol synthetic 5-20, I change every 3500 rounds.

dstark
March 5, 2008, 09:22 PM
I use mobile 1 in my motorcycles, and hoppes #9 in my guns. Personally I dont know what your going to gain using motor oil instead of gun oil. Maybe with my next oil change I'll try some hoppe's in the honda.

Dan-O
March 5, 2008, 09:26 PM
Don't use it on my handguns, but have used it on my waterfowl and turkey gun when I know it is going to be wet out. Provides superior moisture protection.

bikerdoc
March 5, 2008, 09:30 PM
hoppes #9
rem oil
breakfree clp

tblt
March 5, 2008, 09:33 PM
I think most people would rather use it in there trucks but it is slick and I could see how it would work(new oil not used)

Mad Magyar
March 5, 2008, 09:38 PM
I've tried Mobil 1 in the heavier weight...Not bad as a lubricant, especially in cold weather.
However, being in the hot SouthWest, I find run-off to prevalent in most oils and have gone to grease for consistent lubrication...:)

1SOW
March 5, 2008, 09:42 PM
+2 for floydster! ;) but I use 10W-30 twice /yr in TX

P. Plainsman
March 5, 2008, 09:46 PM
Breakfree CLP,

Hoppe's #9 (the smell of handgunning)

Halo
March 5, 2008, 09:47 PM
I've used Mobil 1 15W-50 for years on all my guns. I'm currently using Amsoil 5W-40 because that's what was left over from my car's last oil change :).