So i think i'm ready for 308

PDA

Wilburt
March 6, 2008, 01:00 AM
I have done hours of searching all over and just wanted to make sure i grasped everything. I am new to rifle loading and will be loading .308 for my new SA58.

I think i will use:
WLR Primers
IMR4895 from gibrass (~ 40 gr)
once fired american eagle brass
pulldown or otherwise cheap plinking bullets from:
http://www.ammunitionstore.com/pricelist_reloading_supplies.htm
http://www.goldenwestbrass.com/GoldenWest/GoldenWestWEB/bullets.htm
or gibrass if they get any

i have a trimmer (giraud) on the way and rcbs x-dies. will trim to 1.995 for the x-die.

I will use my rock-chucker to FL size w/lube. then trim (first time), tumble clean, then run everything through my LNL AP for the rest. I don't have a crimp die and from what i've read that's ok. Just put a little presure from the seating die?

what am i forgetting?

If you enjoyed reading about "So i think i'm ready for 308" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Urbana John
March 6, 2008, 06:02 AM
I suggest using RCBS Case Lube 2, and lube the INSDE of the case mouth. Makes resizing easier, and it will help prevent the brass from streching.
Afterwards wash in soapy warm water,,,,,dry throughly,,,,then tumble.
Oh,,,,you will need a way to check the OAL of your brass after it's been resized.

UJ

Bowfishrp
March 6, 2008, 11:47 AM
There are a few good articles on the internet for reloading 308 semi-autos....you really need to full length size and always trim your brass. The Xdie should help this too. I use Lee lube or Hornady (not one-shot!) and try to always touch a little lube on the opening of the mouth.

DaveInFloweryBranchGA
March 6, 2008, 12:40 PM
Wilburt,

I have loaded a lot of rifle for military semi autos using military surplus brass, bullets and powder. I've cut and pasted your post and shared some thoughts with you that'll make things safer for you.

"I think i will use:"