Need help with Rifle that's Stopped Shooting.

PDA

BBW
March 7, 2008, 10:09 PM
Hey guys,

I've been playing around with my 243 for a few months. Thought I would stop in here to see if anyone has any suggestions.

This is a Remington BDL, about seven years old. The thing has always shot great. With a 100gr Sierra in front of 40.7gr of IMR 4350 it would consistently do 3/4" or better at 100yards. But something has gone wrong. It now shoots that same load into about 3" groups average, and sometimes groups as bad as 5-6". I've gone through and made sure that there's no copper or other fouling in the bore (though it does feel like there's a rough spot in the barrel about 1/3rd of the way back from the muzzle -not sure what that's about).

I don't have a round count, but I would think it's probably got between 1500-2000 rounds through it. I'm not sure what the life of a 243 barrel is. I do know that my favored load mentioned above isn't particularly hot.

I'm wondering if I may have overheated the barrel last summer? I took a marksmanship course where we shot a ton of ammo. I know that on a couple of different days the barrel got seriously hot. And it seems like after that is when it stopped shooting well. Is it possible that I damaged the barrel by overheating it?

Any thoughts on what else might be up with this thing? I've never had a trusty rifle go south on me like this before.

Thanks,

Ben

If you enjoyed reading about "Need help with Rifle that's Stopped Shooting." here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
kingjoey
March 7, 2008, 10:11 PM
When you clean the gun do you clean it from the breach end or the muzzle end? I suspect your muzzle crown is buggered

BBW
March 7, 2008, 10:15 PM
Breach. I use a Sinclair bore guide for the 700. Never have cleaned it from the muzzle I'm afraid.

Thanks though.

Ben

SlamFire1
March 7, 2008, 10:22 PM